Everything books

Book Review – THE ROOSTER BAR by John Grisham

My Bookclub’s Review – The Rooster Bar – by John Grisham

Book Review - THE ROOSTER BAR by John Grisham
click to buy from Amazon

The book club I belong to at our local branch library has just finished reading The Rooster Bar by John Grisham. We discussed everything from the cover, the plot, characters and also compared it to his other books. I’ve posted our review along with questions you may want to ask at your own book club.

About the Author

Long before the days of becoming a New York Times Best Seller, Grisham worked as a lawyer at a Southaven Mississippi law practice, squeezing in time to write early in the mornings and during courtroom recesses. Continue reading “Book Review – THE ROOSTER BAR by John Grisham”

Everything books

Book Review- The Woman in the Window by A. J. Finn – A Bestseller

Book Review- The Woman in the Window by A. J. Finn

I belong to the Frazier Park Branch Library book club. We read one book a month and meet every other Tuesday. We have just finished reading The Woman in the Window by A. J. Finn and thought I’d share our review with you.

Book Review- The Woman in the Window by A. J. Finn

About the Author

(Copied from the about author page) THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW has been sold in 43 territories around the world and is currently in development as a major film at Fox 2000, starring Amy Adams, directed by Joe Wright, written by Tracy Letts, and produced by Scott Rudin. I really want a cameo in the movie, in case anyone asks.

I spent a decade working in publishing in both New York and London, with a particular emphasis on thrillers and mysteries. Authors I published or helped acquire over the years include Robert Galbraith (aka J. K. Rowling), Agatha Christie, Patricia Cornwell, Carl Hiaasen, Sara Paretsky, and Nelson DeMille.

Now I write full-time, to the relief of my former colleagues. THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW was inspired by a range of experiences: my lifelong love affair with suspense fiction, from the Sherlock Holmes stories I devoured as a kid to the work of Patricia Highsmith, whom I studied at the graduate level at Oxford; my passion for classic cinema, especially the films of Alfred Hitchcock; and my struggles with agoraphobia and depression. The result, I hope, is a psychological thriller in the vein of Gillian Flynn, Tana French, and Kate Atkinson, among others.

Stuff I love; reading; swimming; cooking; dogs; ice cream; travel. (Note that third semicolon. It’s crucial. I do not love cooking dogs.) Given the chance, I’d seriously consider cloning my late yellow Labrador, Tugboat (2001-2012) — one of history’s few truly perfect creations. I collect first-edition books and divide my time between New York and London.

The Synopsis of “The Woman in the Window”

Anna Fox lives alone—a recluse in her New York City home, unable to venture outside. She spends her day drinking wine (maybe too much), watching old movies, recalling happier times . . . and spying on her neighbors.

Then the Russells move into the house across the way: a father, a mother, their teenage son. The perfect family. But when Anna, gazing out her window one night, sees something she shouldn’t, her world begins to crumble—and its shocking secrets are laid bare.

What is real? What is imagined? Who is in danger? Who is in control? In this diabolically gripping thriller, no one—and nothing—is what it seems.

My Review

Book Review- The Woman in the Window by A. J. Finn

This was a page-turning, nail-biting unable to put down thriller with so many twists and plots that it had me guessing through the entire book.

The main character Dr. Anna Fox, a depressed psychologist with a drinking problem and also suffering from agoraphobia, spends her days looking through her binoculars at her neighbors.

Separated from her husband and daughter, but the reader has no idea why until later in the book, but we know she talks to them often

Becuase of her illness she is cut off from the outside world, her only connection is what she sees through her binoculars. One day while watching the family across the street she witnesses something terrible happen but Anna has a hard time getting anyone to believe her but she’s determined to get to the bottom of what she saw and prove that she isn’t crazy and just imagined it.

Overall all this was a fantastic read and one that was hard to put down. I highly recommend it.

My Overall Rating

Book Review- The Woman in the Window by A. J. Finn

 

COVER DESIGN – 5 STARS – Great eye-catching colors that grabs the readers attention. 

CHARACTERIZATION – 5 STARS – Each character was well developed and had their own distinguished quirks.  Anna especially was excellently written. How her illness was portrayed was spot on. 

STORY & PLOT 5 STARS – Couldn’t put the book down, The plots and twists had me kept turning the pages and the ending was a huge surprise.

OVERALL RATING – 5 STARS 

Questions to ask at Your Bookclub

Book Review- The Woman in the Window by A. J. Finn

Do you belong to a Bookclub? Are you planning on or currently reading The Woman in the Window?  Below are a set of questions you may find helpful pertaining to the book.

1- What did you think of the main character; Anna Fox? Did you like her, if not, explain why?

2 – At what point were you drawn into the book?

3 – When you find out the truth about Anna’s Family were you shocked?

4 – How do you think the author portrayed the illness agoraphobia? Did you know much about it before you read the book?

5 – Do you think the author purposely dropped red herrings to distract the reader. What do you think about them? Which was the biggest?

6 – The title The Woman in the Window – do you think that refers to Anna or the woman she saw in the window?

7- What was your favorite part of the book?

8 – Did you guess the ending? Was it satisfying?

If you have read this book I would love to hear your thoughts on it.

Buy it From Amazon

Click the image to purchase – The Woman in the Window by A. J. Finn

More Reviews

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

new-york-times-adult-fiction-best-sellers-of-2017-part-2
Everything books

New York Times Adult Fiction Best Sellers of 2017 – Part 2

 

The List part 2

As mentioned in last weeks post, there are thirty books on the New York Times Adult Fiction Best Seller List. This week I have posted the remaining fifteen that held the number one spot for one week or more.

Into the Water by Paula Hawkins

new-york-times-adult-fiction-best-sellers-of-2017-part-2
Click to buy from Amazon

A gripping psychological suspense thriller. A single mother is found dead at the bottom of a river. Earlier in the summer, a teenage girl was found dead in the same river. The daughter left behind is placed in the care of her aunt, who is now dragged back to the place she vowed she’d never return to. Continue reading “New York Times Adult Fiction Best Sellers of 2017 – Part 2”

Everything books

New York Times Adult Fiction Best Sellers of 2017 – Part 1

New York Times Adult Fiction Best Sellers of 2017 - Part 1

 

Being #1 on the New York Times Best Sellers List

For most authors and readers the most prestigious list for book sales is the New York Times Best Sellers, established in 1931. If your book makes it on the list, a vast array of opportunities will probably flock your way. Recognition will sure to follow along with possible movie deals, TV shows, interviews and new contracts. You will be able to splash New York Times Best Seller across your cover. Continue reading “New York Times Adult Fiction Best Sellers of 2017 – Part 1”

Everything books

Book Review – KILLER SMILE by Lisa Scottoline

 

book review killer smile by Lisa Scottoline

I’ve been a fan of Lisa Scottoline’s books for many years. This is book 9 of 11 in the Rosato & DiNunzio series. Like the other books in the series, I enjoyed Killer Smile immensely. A murder mystery thriller with history and some humor added to the mix.

About the Author

Copied from the author’s page of the book – Lisa Scottoline is a New York Times bestselling author and a former trial lawyer. She has won the highest prize in crime fiction, Continue reading “Book Review – KILLER SMILE by Lisa Scottoline”

Everything books

All Time Favorite Classic Christmas Books for Children

All Time Favorite Classic Christmas Books for Children

  Sharing the joy of books at Christmas

My fondest memories of Christmas, are those reading Christmas books with my parents and many years later, reading the same books to my son and now today I read them to my grandsons. These timeless classics continue to be treasured by my family, generation after generation. Traditions of curling up with a cup of hot cocoa, a warm blanket and those close to our hearts, sharing the time together reading on Christmas Eve. For me, this is priceless. Continue reading “All Time Favorite Classic Christmas Books for Children”

Everything books

Book Review NYPD RED 1 by James Patterson and Marshall Karp

Book Review NYPD RED 1 by James Patterson

I’ve  read many of James Patterson’s books – this one is the latest and without fail, he delivered. Known for writing fiction murder/mystery,  this series fits the bill. This is the 1st book in the series of five. Published in 2012, this has been on my “To Read” list for some time. It seems that list keeps getting longer. Continue reading “Book Review NYPD RED 1 by James Patterson and Marshall Karp”

Everything books

10 Best Scariest Blood-curdling Halloween Books To Read

 

It’s Hard to believe that Halloween is almost upon us once again. It’s time to decorate the house with ghosts, goblins, witches, and skeletons. Carve some pumpkins, light candles and dress up in costume. As a teenager, one of my fondest memories of Halloween was reading horror stories under the sheets with a flashlight. Always making sure I had found the scariest, blood-curdling book to read. But a question I often ask myself is – “Where did Halloween originate from?” Continue reading “10 Best Scariest Blood-curdling Halloween Books To Read”

Everything books

7 Best Selling Books That Were Rejected

Hearing the word “rejected”

An author never wants to hear the word Rejected.  After spending what may have been many years, working on a manuscript, being told your novel has been rejected can affect your self-esteem and confidence. Many writers begin to question their ability, labeling themselves as failures, not good enough, a bad writer or I don’t have what it takes.  

Some will toss their manuscript in a closet, out of mind, out of sight until they find the courage to re-submit it to another publisher. Others sadly will quit writing altogether. The pain was just too much and they don’t want to experience it again.

Surprisingly, many best selling books were rejected Continue reading “7 Best Selling Books That Were Rejected”

Everything books

5 Famous Authors Who Wrote Their First Book After 50

5 Famous Authors Who Wrote Their First Book After 50

 

5 Famous Authors Who Wrote Their First Book After 50

The saying goes: “That age is just a number.” The authors in the following list, have certainly proved that. I am 53 and about to have my debut novel “Reckless Beginnings” published. Of course, lots of silly thoughts went through my head: “You’re too old  to be writing a book”  “It’s too late to publish a book.” and then there was this one: “You should have written the book years ago.”  I began to question myself and the dream I’ve had of being a published author. Continue reading “5 Famous Authors Who Wrote Their First Book After 50”